BATH AND NORTH EAST SOMERSET COUNCIL

MINUTES OF COUNCIL MEETING

Thursday, 8th May, 2014

Present:- **Councillors** Simon Allen. Patrick Anketell-Jones. Sharon Ball. Tim Ball. Colin Barrett, Cherry Beath, David Bellotti, Sarah Bevan, Mathew Blankley, Lisa Brett, John Bull, Neil Butters, Bryan Chalker, Anthony Clarke, Nicholas Coombes, Paul Crossley, Sally Davis, David Dixon, Peter Edwards, Michael Evans, Paul Fox, Gerry Curran, Andrew Furse, Charles Gerrish, Ian Gilchrist, Francine Haeberling, Alan Hale, Katie Hall, Liz Hardman, Steve Hedges, Eleanor Jackson, Les Kew, Dave Laming, Malcolm Lees, Marie Longstaff, Barry Macrae, David Martin, Loraine Morgan-Brinkhurst MBE, Paul Myers, Douglas Nicol, Vic Pritchard, Liz Richardson, Bryan Organ, Manda Rigby, Caroline Roberts. Nigel Roberts. Dine Romero, Will Sandry, Brian Simmons, Kate Simmons, Jeremy Sparks, Ben Stevens, David Veale, Martin Veal, Geoff Ward, Tim Warren. Chris Watt and Brian Webber

Apologies for absence: **Councillors** Rob Appleyard, Douglas Deacon, Nathan Hartley, Robin Moss, June Player and Roger Symonds

73 EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURE

The Chairman drew attention to the emergency evacuation procedure as set out on the agenda.

74 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made.

75 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL OR FROM THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chairman welcomed all former Councillors and their friends and family to the meeting and invited them to stay for the reception afterwards. He also took the opportunity to send best wishes to former Councillor and Honorary Alderwoman Shirley Steele who had planned to attend but unfortunately had been taken ill that day.

76 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Chairman invited Councillor Crossley, as Leader of the Council, to move the motion, which was seconded by Councillor Warren and supported by Councillors Laming and Bull.

It was then unanimously

RESOLVED that the former B&NES Councillors set out below should have conferred on them the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman in recognition of their eminent and distinguished service both to this Council and its predecessor Councils; Ruth Griffiths Ray Cliffe Chris Dando

Each former Councillor received a scroll and badge honouring their appointment from the Chairman and some words were said by current Councillors on behalf of each recipient, recognising their valuable contribution to this and predecessor Councils.

The meeting ended at 6.25 pm Chairman Date Confirmed and Signed

Prepared by Democratic Services